A Little Plug

Standard

I have to tell you about some fun books to read, if you’d like something that is light-hearted, hilarious, and doesn’t take too much mental effort to enjoy.  Any book by PG Wodehouse will most likely have you laughing out loud (even in the dentist’s office, according to my husband).  He was a master story teller, I believe in the earlier part of the 1900s.  He wrote so many British comedies, and we’ve recently received some to enjoy.  Amazon has tons of them. We told my mother in law about them, and here’s what she wrote:

Melissa, tell Matthew thanks for turning me on to these books.  Jon & I were sitting on the couch watching tv.  I started laughing so hard with tears in my eyes I had to stop reading. Jon couldn’t watch tv as I lost control.  To think there are probably enough of these books to last me the rest of my life, a very pleasent thought.   Love,  Deanna

3 responses »

  1. I shall have to look for some of his books at the library. I'm only familiar with the Jeeves and wooster stories, as my husband had the first two seasons on DVD when we got married and we've enjoyed watching them together. They are fun, and I'm sure the books are much better!

  2. I ahv enot heard of them. I will have to check these out. I love laughing till my stomach hurts and I love British comedy. Comes from living there. I didn't really care for it much when I lived there, but once i got back to the states I found I loved them.
    Susan

    Have a Merry Christmas.

  3. A couple more comments on these books. There are dry parts & I don't particularly like to see English humor acted out. However, when left to one's own imagination & the absurdity, at times, of English humor it can turn into infectious laughter. I so enjoy them & will put up with the "ho hum" parts for the laughter that comes without warning. As I said, thanks Matthew, for turning me on to these books. Deanna

Leave a Reply

