My Advent/Epiphany Project

Standard

I’ve been so convicted lately of many ways in which I need to be a far better help-meet to my husband. One of those areas is contentment.  I too often struggle with a "grass is always greener", "I’d really like just that one more thing" type of discontent.  There’s always some little (or big) thing I’d like to buy; there’s always just one thing that would make our living situation seem "perfect" (which obviously it never will be this side of heaven).  The funny thing is that you’d think my fickleness would open my eyes to the real problem of being covetous, rather than something needing to be different.  One month I desire to live closer to the church, even if it means a tiny house; the next month I’d like something new for this house and don’t ever want to move!  Oy – as my children would say, I’m a "goose" (silly goose, that is).  But I was so convicted today during my prayer time that this is one area that is the opposite of helpful to my husband!  Here he is, trying to lead and bless his family, when his wife is pining away to have something we can’t afford, or do something that is not what he belives God is leading us to do.  And I have one of those wonderful Mr. Steady husbands who  tries to do all in his power to make me happy. The thing is, I have every reason in the world to be happy, and none at all to be discontent!  It must stop!!! I was created to be his help-meet (in fact, I think I need to reread that book – more conviction should then follow) and I have made it a project this advent season to ask the Lord to root out this sin of discontent in my life.  My mother-in-law gave me some great advice, which she used years ago to conquer a particular struggle she was facing.  She said to write/type out a list of verses pertaining to that sin (concordance or biblegateway.com really help here!), then to read that list of verses at least three times each day for about a month or two (which is about how much time is left in this Advent/Epiphany season, hence why it’s now my current project), or however long it takes.  Then she said the key is to really commit to the Lord that I won’t simply read them by rote and gloss over them, but truly meditate upon them, read them carefully, pray through them, and ask God to deeply engrave them upon my heart.  When she did this years ago, God brought her such victory, and she said she’s never struggled in that particular area in nearly the same way since.  That is my prayer with my struggle of discontent.  I want God to root it out and take it away, so here is the list I came up with (I wanted to post this as a small way to hold myself accountable, and also in the hopes that Deanna’s wisdom can be helpful to others besides my family!):

 

"And we, what shall we do?" And He said to them . . . be content with your wages." Luke 3:14

 

“For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” II Corinthians 12:10

“Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:11-13

“Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.’” Hebrews 13:5

“. . . the contentions of a wife are a constant dripping.” Proverbs 19:13

 

“It is better to live in a corner of a roof than in a house shared with a contentious woman.” Proverbs 21:9

 

“You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife; and you shall not desire your neighbor’s house, his field, his male servant, his female servant, his ox, his donkey, or anything that is your neighbor’s.” Deuteronomy 5:21

 

“The desire of the lazy man kills him, for his hands refuse to labor. He covets greedily all day long, but the righteous gives and does not spare.” Proverbs 21:25-26

 

“And He said to them, ‘Take heed and beware of covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.’” Luke 12:15

 

”For this you know, that no . . . covetous man, who is an idolater, has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God.” Ephesians 5:5

 

“Therefore put to death your members which are on the earth: fornication, uncleanness, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry.” Colossians 3:5

 

“O LORD, You are the portion of my inheritance and my cup; You maintain my lot. The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; Yes, I have a good inheritance.  I will bless the LORD who has given me counsel; my heart also instructs me in the night seasons. I have set the LORD always before me; because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved. Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices;” Psalm 16:5-9

 

“Behold, happy is the man whom God corrects; therefore do not despise the chastening of the Almighty.” Job 5:17

 

“Happy are the people whose God is the LORD!” Psalm 144:15

 

“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.” Psalm 23:1

 

“But he who is of a merry heart has a continual feast.” Proverbs 15:15

 

“. . . train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled.” Titus 2:4-5

 

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.” Colossians 3:16

 

“Now godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content. But those who desire to be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and harmful lusts which drown men in destruction and perdition. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil, for which some have strayed from the faith in their greediness, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.  But you, O man of God, flee these things and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, gentleness.”  I Timothy 6:6-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. There is a page in Martha Peace's book "The Excellent Wife" that talks about 18 ways a wife can be the glory of her husband. I have read that book over and over, and it was so helpful to me. I too am always finding something "more", and I need to learn to be content. It's a great book too. I especially love that page, and have referred to it so often.

  2. You could be describing me… and I must say I was ashamed when I read your post. This has given me quite the thing to think over.

    I do so enjoy your blog… I'll be back. 🙂

    Happy Christmas Blessings upon you all!

Leave a Reply

